James, Trumpet, Student (Information Technology)

“Throughout middle school and high school I had always loved music and was naturally drawn to becoming friends with people that were in a band class. However, it wasn’t until high school senior year that I decided to join band and pick up the trumpet. I had always thought I would not have enough time or that it was too late to join band and to be good at playing an instrument. With enough motivation from my band friends, I decided to join and I have never looked back. Playing and creating music with a group of like minded peers truly allows you to connect with others on a deeper level of brother and sisterhood that I had not experienced fully prior to band. I have been playing the trumpet for two years now and I am confident enough in my playing ability to play in college level band courses and even the Marching Knights here at UCF. As a STEM major I find having the power of music ensembles behind me while taking high level courses helps recenter me as a person. Playing music helps me keep room for activities I love doing outside of the classroom and allows me to have a large family of supporting individuals who share the love for music and band.”

James
Trumpet
Student (Information Technology)
Merritt Island High School (FL)
University of Central Florida

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑